Top Model Competition

Ai Hienrichs ♛ Miss CoC 2012 4th Runner-up ♛

Ai - New Faceshot

 

  • Why have you entered Colour of Couture – Top Model Competition?
  • This is a very meaningful competition to me because I find women with colours are often not given enough attention and priority in the world, be it RL or SL, and this competition does not only help create more awareness to ethnic women in SL but also a great platform to celebrate the diversity and help others appreciate the differences we offer in Second Life. This contest also brings me back to my roots. Born as a Southeast Asian in RL, I would like to take this opportunity to help people in the world to understand a little more about the Southeast Asia region. Also, I am aspire to help put the Southeast Asian models on the SL map.

 

  • What particular qualities, personality & style should Miss Colour of Couture posess?
  • I believe Miss CoC must be a good role model in embracing the meaning of diversity, not just in terms of colours of the skins but also diversity in terms of cultures, ideas and backgrounds. She is the inspiration to all women of colours, to be comfortable and proud of their origins and who they are.

 

  • What are your thoughts and feelings about fashion in Second Life?

    What is your role as a Woman of Colour in SL Fashion?

  • Fashion in Second Life is very vibrant and exciting, while competitive. With this we get to experience new things almost everyday, either it is a new design or a completely new creation and because it is mirroring RL really close and because this is Second Life, it offers residents in SL the access of different experience which they would otherwise hard to get in RL. Fashion in SL also plays a big part in helping my imagination take shape here.

    Fashion is a huge and influential industry in SL, and definitely a very diversified community. Being a Woman of Colour in the SL Fashion, I strive to represent the designers, demonstrating the versatility of their creations not just using my styling skills, but also through ethnic influence using colors and ideas.

 

  • How will you promote the Miss Colour of Couture competition as a finalist?

    How will you promote the title of Miss CoC should you win?

  • I believe it is important to help others understand the meaning behind of the CoC competition and what the CoC organization would like to achieve through this event by using channels such a blog post, flickr and magazine interviews. Our styling challenges are great learning experience for me in other ethnic culture and I would love to share what I learned with others. I know a lot of models are skeptical about participating in this competition because this is the first year and they do not know what to expect. It is important to share experience and offer people some insights to our events so they know this is a very meaningful and great experience.

    There are great responsibilities carrying the Miss CoC title. In fact I feel it is greater than Miss Virtual World because, should I win, I will have this added responsibilities of not just setting a great example of being a top model in SL, but also being one with woman of colour. My approach would be combining the education and promotion of the title of Miss CoC together through partnership with various channels and media.

 

  • What sort of impression would you like people to have of you if win the title?

    What impression would you like to leave with them if you do not win?

  • Whether I win the title or not, I would like to walk away with others believing that I have embraced and truly lived the meaningful of diversity. I also would do my best to put the Southeast Asian model on the map of SL fashion world that at the end of this competition everyone will know more of the characteristics of a Southeast Asian beauty and what we have to offer; and also at the end of the competition, everyone will recognize Ai Hienrichs as a beauty from Southeast Asia. 🙂

 

  • What do you envision your activity in SL to be a year from now?

    What goals and ambitions do you have?

  • It will be an exciting and forward looking year with new responsibilities and learning opportunity. I strived to be a knowledgeable and experienced mentor and teacher to new models and I look forward to learn from them of their new ideas and the culture they bring with them to SL.

    On personal level, I like to have my own sim eventually and create quality accessories. I also would like to continue to help my mentors and sponsors to continue to be successful in whatever they are doing.

 

  • Briefly summarize your professional career as a model in SL?
  • I am a graduate from the MVW and currently a Model Trainee with the Passion – The Fashion Agency. I am blessed to be represented by some really established modeling agencies in SL. I have print, editorial, live and runway experience but I can never learned everything I need to know about SL fashion so I feel everyday I am still learning something new.

    I am also a fashion blogger. I have my own blog and I also blog for some reputable designers and magazine.

    Other experience I had was working as a Store and Event Manager for a reputable and long standing fashion brand in SL.

    Feel free to check my blog and flickr for details of my credentials.

 

  • Do you have any additional comments you would wish to share?
  • I am proud to be one of the finalists of CoC, being part of such a great and meaningful event, and I look forward to the next couple of weeks, getting to know the rest of the finalists from different culture.

    I can never count my blessings enough as I believe I have been blessed with meeting some really talented and kind people in SL, who believe in and supported me, allowing my imagination to take shape. Working hand in hand, I hope we will be able to achieve something greater and bigger in the future.

    Also thanking the committees and Organizer of the CoC in such an inspiring and unique event.

 

Leave a Reply

