Top Model Competition

Genevieve Kamala

Genevieve Close up by JH

 

  • Why have you entered Colour of Couture – Top Model Competition?
  • I was intrigued by the chance to express my creativity while at the same time paying homage to our ancestors and to the tradition of beauty they have carried in the world. I was born in Italy, a country of many races and traditions that have crossed our land, so each of us is the fruit if these encounters.
    This is the reason why I am particularly interested in incarnating the mixed heritage, which is key to human development. From contacts both genetic and cultural our human race can evolve into a new species, hopefully of inner beauty as well as outer.

    Aside my personal interest, I chose to participate since this is a professional challenge as well. I like to explore new fields of my work as model, agency owner and writer.

 

  • What particular qualities, personality & style should Miss Colour of Couture posess?
  • I believe that Miss Colour of Couture has a pleasant and polite approach to people and events, experience in fashion and, even more importantly, in dealing with very diverse people and approaches to life, these qualities are accompanied by strength and poise, paired with her unique style and vision that are necessary to stand out. Miss CoC creates new trends and is not afraid to be different, showing compassion and attention to the needs of women the world over.

 

  • What are your thoughts and feelings about fashion in Second Life?

    What is your role as a Woman of Colour in SL Fashion?

  • My thoughts and feelings about fashion are expressed in my articles in Bestyle Magazine, where I have been writing since November 2010, it is difficult to share them in a few lines, without being banal. However, my first thought is my belief that sl is the perfect ground for experiments and new trends. Here we can try out any style we want, before wearing it in rl, or we can even see things for the first time and then find them in rl too. I am well aware that many sl designers are “inspired” by rl ones, but I have also met many who are seriously considering (and studying) how to transfer their creativity to rl, while some rl ones have found fun and ground for their creativity in sl. This is the future of fashion, sl as a sounding board for rl fashion in the future, with the clear feel that we are free to choose what we want to wear in a huge variety of offers.

    I have had a chance to work as model both in light and dark skins and I realize that the feelings are different, as much as the clothes worn, that is why I identify with women of mixed races, like my feelings about it. I have seen a greater number of clothes, accessories, skins and hair which work well with darker skins, I am proud to wear these clothes and clothes. I hope that my work can also remind people of the difficult condition of people of mixed races in many parts of the world.

 

  • How will you promote the Miss Colour of Couture competition as a finalist?

    How will you promote the title of Miss CoC should you win?

  • I have already added the title of finalist to my profile, as well as the photos taken so far for this contest. If I won the title I will continue with my work with the added benefit of more exposure which will help me to support charity work, especially in Africa, in the field of education.

 

  • What sort of impression would you like people to have of you if win the title?

    What impression would you like to leave with them if you do not win?

  • The same impression! I would like people to see the quality and thoughtfulness of my styling work, my attitude, compassion and helpful presence.
    I am here in sl the same person I am in rl, and I think that we all bring what we are into this world of imagination.

 

  • What do you envision your activity in SL to be a year from now?

    What goals and ambitions do you have?

  • I will continue with my agency, my appointments with Bestyle and Avcon magazines, I would like to be also a model for other publications and perhaps write for another magazine as well. I would like to be part of a few more agencies, but I will keep mine small and light, so that we can keep the good atmosphere we have so far. I would like to create a line of clothing in mesh, now that it is possible, I love the avenues of creativity opened by it.

 

  • Briefly summarize your professional career as a model in SL?
  • Model since 2009, graduate of SuperElite (up to Elite level),
    2010 Graduate at Evane with Mimmi Boa, Master Course at Evane with Payton Heron,
    MVW Academy, Individual course with Mui Mukherj.

    Agency owner since 2010, over 60 shows as model, over 20 as owner and show director, fashion show director for Solo Evane, writer for Bestyle Magazine and Avcon Digital Magazine.

    Agencies: Solo Evane Model, BESTYLE Agency Supermodel, AVCON PRO Model, Farouche Prime Model ,Bliss Super Model, My Precious Model, owner of The Professionals IMA.

 

  • Do you have any additional comments you would wish to share?
  • Thank you for this opportunity to be challenged and share my interests and vision of life. I will endevour to carry the responsability of this task in the best possible way, with grace and in beauty.

 

Leave a Reply

